Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe

It’s not just part of Fannie Flagg’s novel title, Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe and it’s not just a movie. It’s really food…

As promised, here is my Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe. I blogged a few weeks ago about how early the frost came to my part of Wyoming. One day the garden was hanging in there, and the next it was slimy and wilted from having been frozen twice in one weekend. Luckily, I gathered the green tomatoes before the frost bit them.

My family loves Fried Green Tomatoes and since I’m originally from Oklahoma, a little more south, I know how to make them. I’m not Paula Dean. I have a secret. The secret is there is really no secret. There are lots of ways to fry them. It’s all in what your family prefers. Mine like a batter dipped tomato, others like theirs simply coated with cornmeal. I’ve tried various recipes and have settled on the two easiest. Like I said. I’m not Paula:

Author Tina Ann Forkner’s Easy Batter Dipped Fried Green Tomatoes:

6 – 8 Medium Sized Green tomatoes

Pancake Batter (from scratch or a box, so you’ll also need Eggs and Oil)

Corn Meal

Salt & Pepper

Canola oil for Frying

Slice tomatoes about 1/4 -1/2 inch thick. Mix pancake batter according to instructions (or box instructions). Add enough cornmeal to pancake mix just so it’s a thicker consistency that will stick to the tomato easily. Heat canola oil in pan. If you are going to treat the family to this snack, you have to have enough oil to do the job, so be sure it’s about 1/2 deep in the pan. Use Canola to be healthier. Fry one side 2 – 3 minutes just until golden. Salt & Pepper. Turn gently and again cook until golden. Salt & Pepper. Drain on paper towels. Serve as a side or as a fun snack.

And here is a classic recipe with just cornmeal. It’s not the way my family likes their Fried Green Tomatoes, but if you don’t like the batter dipped kind, try this one:

Easy Classic Fried Green Tomatoes:

6 Green tomatoes

Salt and Pepper

Cornmeal

Canola or Vegetable Oil

Slice Tomatoes 1/4 inch thick, salt and pepper, dip into corn meal and fry for about 3 minutes or until golden. Turn and brown other side.

Tina Ann Forkner is the author of the novels Ruby Among Us and Rose House, from Waterbrook Press, a Division of Random House.

[photo credit: Rachel is… flickr.com]


One thought on “Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe

Leave a Comment