I’m Published!

  

When I arrived home on Friday, after picking my daughter up from ballet, my husband waved away my efforts to start getting hungry kids fed, took my hand and led me to the front door. Like Vanna, only in a macho way, he gestured to some boxes that had arrived UPS. They were the author copies of my book, Ruby Among Us!

Wow. It’s hard to describe how exciting it was to open that box, but I did it as quickly as possible and then bawled in my confused hubby’s arms for a few seconds. Then I flipped through and seeing the dedication to my daughter, the acknowledgements to my stepsons – and yes, to my husband and parents too, I cried all over again!

The books are just beautiful and I’m so pleased with the cover and just the whole product. My husband asked if I would be reading it, thinking that I would, but I have to admit I have read it so many times that I’m not sure I will. Plus, I am so hard on myself when it comes to writing that I would probably just over think it and wish I could revise it yet again.

If you are in the Wyoming/Colorado area, check out upcoming issues of Around Cheyenne magazine, the Wyoming Tribune-Eagle, and the Rocky Mountain Writer for highlights of Ruby Among Us.  

Also watch for highlights and reviews of Ruby in upcoming issues of Homecoming magazine, Charisma, Christian Retailing, and CBA Retailers + Resources.

I also was very honored to hear that Harriet Klausner, who is Amazon.com’s #1 Top Reviewer, gave my book a glowing rating and in case you missed it a few weeks ago, Ruby Among Us received
4 1/2 stars
 from Romantic Times Book Reviews. Apparently the only rating higher with RT is a 4 1/2 Gold, which is rarely given. That same month, by the way, Colleen Coble’s new book, Anathema, was also awarded 4 1/2 stars and was also the Top Pic! It’s very cool to be in such good company.

Things are starting to happen in the book retailing area and it won’t be long before you readers get to see Ruby Among Us too. We are now only a month away! It’s been hard to believe, but when I held the real book in my hand on Friday, I was finally able to believe this is all real.

3 thoughts on “I’m Published!

  1. Thanks for the kind words. It really is exciting. It’s so nice to know I’m not the only critical one when it comes to writing. I’m not generally a perfectionist, but I am when it comes to writing!

    Yes, in answer to your question, I have another book coming out after this one in 2009. I’m excited about that one too! It follows Ruby Among Us and has some of the same characters, but both books will stand alone. You won’t have to read them in order if you don’t want… Of course I would love if you go ahead and read the first one when it comes out. 🙂

    Like

  2. Hey! Congrads on the book!! I really laughed pretty hard when I read the part of your crying and next that you would ‘probably’ not be reading it again on account of how overly critical you are in writing and how this might change how you interpret what you wrote. I am overly analytical myself and also write… so I could feel and imagine pretty easily the sentiments and moment you described.
    I really wish you the most success! Yeah, that must feel really good to know that it is done and as you said… in-your-hand real.
    Will you go on to Publish other works? It must be pretty scary, the idea of how it is perceived by the public. If it will be as successful as you may hope.

    Congradulations again!

    Like

Leave a Comment

