What’s on Your Nightstand?

What's On Your Nightstand

I’m joining the 5 Minutes for Mom What’s On Your Nightstand blog carnival. This is perfect since back in January I made a Resolution to Read More in 2009. I’m a writer, so you might think it should be easy to find reading time, but it’s just the opposite. That’s why I made the resolution.  Here are a few of the books I have on my nightstand:

The Guernsey Literary Guild and Potato Peel Pie Society, by Mary Ann Shaffer & Annie Barrows – One of the authors used to work as a librarian, so I had to read it. I love, love this book about post World War II and have been amazed at how the authors managed to stitch together a story from letters they made up.

Chasing Fireflies, by Charles Martin – I really don’t know anything about this book yet, but Publisher’s Weekly says, “Martin’s strength is in his memorable characters…[his] prose is lovely.”

Home Safe, by Elizabeth Berg – This books doesn’t come out until May 2009, but I picked up an Advanced Reading Copy at the American Library Association mid-winter conference a few weekends ago. I love anything by Elizabeth Berg, so I can hardly wait to begin the novel.

The Laws of Harmony, by Judith Ryan Hendricks – This is another book I picked up at ALA, but I haven’t read Hendricks before. She is also the author of Bread Alone and she had a container of delicious brownies, which she’d made herself and shared with readers as she signed books. The novel revolves around food I think, plus the author was delightful, so I have to read it.

Daisy Chain, by Mary E. DeMuth –  I love DeMuth’s other two novels, Watching the Tree Limbs and Wishing on Dandelions. She has a wonderful lyrical style that is beautiful to read, but not so literary that it’s too heavy. I’m reading this book now and love it.

Love Walked In, by Maris de los Santos – I want to finish this wonderful novel so I can read her other one, Belong to Me. Lovely writer.

Paper Roses, by Amanda Cabot – Most people who know me long enough figure out that I have  a soft spot for historical romance, especially the sweet country kind. It’s funny to some because I don’t write historicals. I think I love them so much because I grew up watching Little House on the Prairie and used to read books by Jeanette Oke. Ann Kirk Shorey is another new author in this genre, who is worth reading. Her novel is The Edge of Light and is a good example at how much more complex this genre has gotten. The books really do deal with good issues, but within a different framework than other genres. Anyway, I love the escape and the romance! Amanda has written many books, but this is her first foray into a new genre. I’m sure it won’t be her last.

Dewey, by Vicki Myron and Bret Witter – Another book connected to libraries, so I want to read it, but I’ve not finished it yet.

Two-Part Invention, by Madeleine L’Engle – I found this in a sale. I haven’t started it yet, but see it’s book four in a series.

Plan B: Further Thoughts on Faith, by Anne Lamott – I’ve been skipping around and reading this one in sections. I like it.

If you want to join in on the What’s on Your Nightstand carnival go to the carnival page at 5 Minutes for Mom. It’s interesting to see what everyone else is reading.

Update: Check back in a day or two for a new contest to win free books!

4 thoughts on “What’s on Your Nightstand?

  1. I have several of these books in my TBR stack. I love Charles Martin’s books, and can’t wait to read “Chasing Fireflies”. I just read “When Crickets Cry” and it was so good. Also, an older book you have to read, if you haven’t already is Robin Jones Gunn’s “Gardenia’s For Breakfast”. I cried reading both of these inspiring books. Your book, “Ruby Among Us” was a great and inspiring read that I really enjoyed alot as well, and can’t wait for the next one!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Sandy! I’m glad you enjoyed Ruby Among Us. And I’ll look for Gardenia’s for Breakfast. I haven’t heard of it before now. Thanks for the tip.

      Like

Leave a Comment

