I Wanna Be a Cowgirl

I finally bought me a cowgirl hat! The time was right since Tina Ann Forkner Cheyenne Frontier Days is in full swing here in Wyoming. I admit that it’s nearly impossible not to get swept up into the fun. At some point this week, I’ll head out to the rodeo to see the Real cowgirls and cowboys compete at the arena. Their hats will be flying off and landing in the dirt as they compete astride their horses. Mine will be put to better use keeping the sun off my face as I sit in the stands and watch.

I do love the rode0 and the concerts, but my favorite parts of Cheyenne Frontier Days are the free events:

Rattlesnake Gulch– It’s just outside of the arena and is a mock western town where you can just look or buy souvenirs, have some kettle korn, and sample some chuckwagon food. You can take the kids. Last year we even threw ours in jail and let them see wild horses.

The Indian Village – Also outside of the arena and is free. Native Americans from the Wind River reservation host this every year and educate the public with traditional dances and crafts that the kids can participate in.

The Pancake Breakfasts – Thousands are fed downtown in record speed.

The Cheyenne Frontier Days Parade– There are so many people in Cheyenne during CFD, they hold three parades.

The Laramie County Library – Okay, so I know we have the library all year long, but it’s a great place to get out of the sun and let the kids hang out on the amazing second floor in the air conditioning while parents lounge in comfy chairs and watch. It’s also the 2008 Impact Library of the Year, so it’s worth seeing. We love our library!

And there is so much more. If you happen to be near Cheyenne, Wyoming this week, I definitely recommend you stop and check out the sites of Cheyenne Frontier Days. As for me, I’m going to have to get my word count in early each morning since it’s probably going to be a busy week!

4 thoughts on “I Wanna Be a Cowgirl

  1. Ah, Tina. I wanna be a cowgirl, too. My hat looks like yours, but is a dark brown. Alas, I have really no place to wear it these days. We aren’t in cowboy country and it’s a rare person who wears a hat in public (while not on a horse).

    When we had our horse a couple years ago and went to the fairs, I’d wear it. Now it’s collecting dust. I miss wearing my hat and riding my horse! Yesterday at book club, we were at a house where the hostess has 3 horses. I was prepared to skip book club in favor of being with the horses for 2 hours. 🙂

    And BTW, I’m all in favor of throwing our kids in jail! heh heh heh That’s pretty funny. Sounds like a fantastic time.

    Like

Leave a Comment

