The Hummingbirds are Back

Hummingbird

I get so excited when our busy little hummingbird friends come back for a visit. I wasn’t sure if they would return this year, but they have finally arrived and now I can sit back and enjoy them.  It reminds me of this passage from Ruby Among Us

“I looked over at Kitty, who was staring up at the hummingbird feeder. A jeweled green bird had appeared, flitting around us like a bumblebee. I wondered if it noticed that Ruby was gone, if it had watched the whole thing, witnessing how slow I had been that day. I balanced my teacup on my knees and watched the hummingbird dart around us. It paused near my shoulder, its wings buzzing, as if studying the splashes of color on my dress. Was he accusing me? I glanced at Kitty again, but she said nothing, as if it was an expected thing to have a hummingbird fly right up to me on the day of my Ruby’s funeral.” —from Ruby Among Us, by Tina Ann Forkner

This scene from my novel was actually inspired by all the times I watched hummingbirds with my own grandma. Her name was Carrie and she loved hummingbirds. She taught her grandchildren to love them too. Just recently some of us granddaughters shared how hummingbirds still remind us of watching them with her.

2 thoughts on “The Hummingbirds are Back

  1. Charles, thank you so much! I don’t know the brand of my feeder, but my family bought it for me for Mother’s Day. It is a very colorful glass globe and I really think it might be the colors and the brightness the glass gives that made the Hummingbirds try it. Good luck!

    Like

  2. I love that book! You know how to paint a vivid image with your writing. What kind of feeders do you use to attract hummingbirds, or do you just use flowers? I don’t have room for flowers so I’m looking for an effective feeder. I’ve come across Perky-Pet’s Magnolia Top Fill feeder so far. They look like they’d be mess-free to fill and easy to clean since they open from the top. Thoughts? Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Comment

