When a Reader Loves Your Book

old typewriterMuch to my amazement, I came across this Lovely Review of Rose House at Paradoxology this weekend and it made me cry. Sometimes crying over a review is not a good thing, but in this case it was. 

I’ve enjoyed visiting all of the intriguing book sites on the most recent Blog Tour organized by my publisher and I’ve tried to list them all in an Earlier Post, but there was something special about this one review at Paradoxology that I just wanted to share.

“The author, Ms. Forkner, is more than a mere writer.  This woman writes fiction with poetry and a paintbrush.  She writes with truth, with feeling, and an accuracy that is sometimes uncomfortable but always perfect.

Okay, so I admit that part was good for my poor, insecure writer’s ego.

“I don’t know how to describe what she did– I think it is the artist’s side of her.  I do not know if the author has ever painted or drawn anything, but she sees and thinks like an artist.  Somehow that artistic side of her kept prose from ruining a beautiful thing.  I was amazed.”

I have not painted and am not an expert, but I do love art and what it does to the viewer. My writing soul is thrilled that this reader noticed the art imagery in the novel and that she gets it.  There is nothing more fulfilling as an author than when the words of a story mesh perfectly with a reader’s soul.

“It was how she chose to write it.  It is the kind of writing that speaks to me.  Simple.  A picture in words.  Brief and yet poignant.”

In this case, I guess I have accomplished what I set out to do when I started writing a story about the search for significance, hope, and beauty. This is why writers write. We want to tell a story that will deeply touch a reader.

“It is probably the best book I’ve read all year.”

And there they are, the words that create a kind of pride that no author is immune to. Someone really, really loves my book.

8 thoughts on “When a Reader Loves Your Book

  1. Thanks Chautona and everyone. This is the kind of review that reminds one why they write in the first place. Not everyone will like our books, but we write them for that one reader – and hopefully more – who will love it.

    Thanks for getting Ruby, Chautona, and I hope you enjoy Rose House Cathe! 🙂

    Like

  2. You should definitely be flattered! Usually Chautona gives books away freely, so if she wants to keep one, it’s a very rare compliment to the author. I will have to get a copy of this one.

    Like

  3. I am thrilled that you enjoyed my review. To be honest, I don’t think it did your book justice. I usually try to balance my reviews with frank discussions of what I consider weak spots or flaws, but seriously, I had a hard time finding them. Your book resonated with me in a way that few books do, and it was a pleasure and my privilege to be one of the reviewers.

    I’ve already ordered Ruby Among Us. I can’t wait for it to arrive.

    Chautona

    Like

Leave a Comment

