Where We Read

reading a book in a tree

I received a note from a reader, Jan, yesterday. She wanted to let me know that she was reading my book, Rose House, while sitting beneath a  tree. She said it was an aspen grove, which really made me smile.

I have seen her photo, so I could easily picture Jan seated beneath an aspen grove, maybe in her backyard, Rose House in hand, lost in the world of vineyards and roses. From an author’s point of view, it’s a lovely thought.

I went on to let Jan know I’d read a book just a little while ago beneath the crabapple tree in my back yard.  I happened to be reading a novel called The Feast of Saint Bertie by Kathleen Popa that was all about a woman trying to quiet her life and focus on the important things.

I’ve been doing some of that myself, lately, and the note from Jan just reinforced my goal to quiet my own life. Before the busyness (and business) of publishing came about in my life, I was all about finding the quiet. I have always found  solace in going to a peaceful place to read, pray, or just sit and listen to the sounds around me.

My favorite way to lose the world has always been to listen to the rustle of branches and leaves as the breeze blows through my favorite reading tree.

readng a book under a tree

When I was a little girl, I used to finish my chores and sneak off to my favorite tree, book in tow. I would climb so high I could look out and see the trees and pastures around our  country home.

My mom would eventually miss me and step out on the porch to call my name. After she called for me a few more times, I would finally climb down and head back home, sorry to put my story on hold. Of course, Mom was always worried that I would get hurt, and I do remember that I once fell out of a different tree and sprained my wrist, but that was the only time. 

I didn’t worry about falling back then. I was after the tranquility. I didn’t want to be found.

It’s the same now when I am writing or reading. I don’t want to be found. I love  taking a book out onto my back  porch in nice weather or dragging a chair to sit beneath the crabapple tree. During those times I tune out the neighborhood sounds and focus on the rustle of the leaves and the singing birds.

After sitting there for a long time, I eventually get lost and fall peacefully back into the story.

Tina Ann Forkner is the author of Ruby Among Us and Rose House, from Waterbrook Press/Random House

11 thoughts on “Where We Read

  1. LOl. I love that my comments inspired your post.

    I purchased the book at Barnes & Noble and went out on their balcony to read. But the hot sun beat down and my iced tea began to melt. Then I thought about how peaceful it was in my little aspen grove in the backyard. So I spent several hours in my aspen grove, immersed in the Napa Valley, where we lived for ten years.

    I’ve enjoyed reading the blossoming love between Lillian and Tru; and I even catch myself praying that Lil and Geena will work things out.

    Sadly, I’m 5/6 of the way through. It’s been such a peaceful reprieve. I sincerely hope you are working on another book. I love your blend romance and intrigue.

    Like

  2. Martha – We are about 4 hours from Grand Junction in Cheyenne. We drove there a few summers ago and spent a weekend. We got loads of peaches. They were soooo good!

    Like

  3. Well, at least it is a popular place!!! I often read in my car too while I am waiting for things! I take a book with wherever I go so I always have something to do!
    Tina, do you live near Grand Junction? I have alot of family there, so go to visit sometimes! They have great peaches!

    Like

  4. All of you make me want to run off and read right now. Martha and Stormi, couches seem to be popular choices. And Debra, you must live in a mild climate!

    Kathleen, I am so glad you stopped by. It was such a delightful book. The balcony sounds lovely!

    Like

  5. Tina Ann, thanks so much for reading – and mentioning – my novel! I love to think of you under your favorite tree, the wind rustling the leaves.

    Alas, I don’t have a reading tree, but I do have very nice chair in my office, and a balcony where I can perch above the world when the weather’s good.

    Like

  6. My favorite place to read is in my hammock, underneath the tall pines trees in my back yard. Even in cooler weather, I just grab a quilt on my way out.

    Like

  7. I like to read curled up on my couch usually! That is the most common place I read, however, I also have a nice bench by a sunny window and in the winter, I like to catch the sunshine and lay by the window and read!

    Like

  8. My favorite place to read is cuddled up on the couch with my cat on my stomach purring away. It’s very soothing. On nice weather days, I also like to go to my favorite park by the Chesapeake Bay and sit on a bench facing the water so I can hear the lapping of the waves.

    Like

Leave a Comment

