A Note from NYC

As I write this, I’m sitting in a hotel room in NYC. I haven’t been in here all day. I started the morning hanging out at the New York Central Library. I did a little bit of writing, but I admit I spent most of my time wandering the hallways, slipping in and out of various reading rooms, and admiring the magnificent architecture. As a writer, my first thoughts were how I might work the library into my next book, but in the end I decided to relax and soak it all in  just for fun. I know lots of writers who need to have a little more fun, and I’m one of them.

In this photo I’m on a river cruise in New York City with my hair blowing all over the place. That was fun. Walking all over NYC seeing it in all its glory is fun. Buying my friend’s new book at B&N in New York, her current hometown, was fun. Having coffee with her will be even more fun. Buying a flimsy sundress at an unknown street shop because it is HOT in NYC was fun. And yet, I am still finding time to write my 1,000 words per day.

My goal for this year has been to loosen up and live  better in order to write better. Publishing is wonderful and I can’t even explain how grateful I am for that, but as I’ve mentioned on this blog before, one has to write well. I’ve discovered that writing well doesn’t happen unless I’m living well.

I’m not just talking about traveling to NYC and having a ball. Sure, that’s living well, but I mean in everyday life. I can’t wait to see how my garden is doing and I look forward to a few months of grilling out back with my family, adorning the kitchen table with fresh flowers, and seeing some movies in the park.

It’s all about balance and I’m finding that my writing is fresher when I get away from the keyboard and play a little more. Maybe you, my friends, having been working too much, as well. If so, you aren’t alone. We are all guilty of it, but if we live well, my friends, then our writing (and other types of work) will produce better results.

-Tina

6 thoughts on “A Note from NYC

  1. Good for you, Tina. Isn’t NYC just overwhelming and awesome! I’ve been there and enjoyed the sights but wouldn’t want to live there.

    Like

    1. Rachel, I agree. I couldn’t live there full-time because I need to be able to escape all the pavement, but it sure is fun to be here.

      Like

  2. You all will have a great time! Vicki! We will just miss each other. It is HOT, but you might want to take a wrap or something if you go see a show because of the AC. I grabbed one of they Pashmina scarves/shawls from a street vendor and stuffed it in my purse in case I get cold.

    Like

  3. Wonderful! My DH & I are taking the red eye to NYC Thursday night …. can hardly wait! How much longer will you get to enjoy it and enjoy the heck out of the rest of your stay.

    Like

  4. Good for you, finding balance!! I try to do the same thing as well, forcing myself out with friends (I’m always glad I did it), making time for things besides business and housework and obligations. Not easy, but worth it.

    Like

Leave a Comment

