Hatteras Girl, by Alice J. Wisler

I just finished reading Alice J. Wisler’s latest novel, Hatteras Girl. I read her first novel Rain Song and enjoyed it so much that I loaned it to someone and can no longer remember where it is (If you have it, can you please give it back?). It is hard to say what I loved most about Hatteras Girl. Was it the Outer Banks of North Carolina setting? Maybe, because I love a good setting. Or maybe it was the cast of quirky, but refreshingly down-to-earth characters  who were surprisingly familiar to me. I love a good ‘supporting cast.’ I also love a strong main character who isn’t so perfect I can’t relate to her and who sheds little pieces of wisdom here and there as she learns. Like I said, it’s hard to say what I loved most about this novel because I really enjoyed it all.
 
One thing I really want to say is that it has a background thread that deals with grief in a way that is not too heavy. It felt to me that this story teaches people how to deal with other people’s grief as much or more than how to deal with your own. It’s hard to know what to say and how to act when tragedy happens to other people, and seeing how Jackie navigates this with her best friend who is in the midst of grieving for someone is touching.
 
Of course, I always love a good recipe, too, and this book has three of them at the end of the book that I’m looking forward to trying. I’m so glad I read this book. If you are looking for a book that isn’t too simple with complex and interesting characters, but that will still make you smile, then you should read Hatteras Girl.
 
-Tina Ann Forkner
 
 
More About the Book:
 
Jacqueline has two dreams—to meet an honest man to marry and to own her own bed and breakfast on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. Since the first one doesn’t seem to be materializing, she enlists the help of her childhood friend Minnie and focuses on the second. But will romance be an unexpected guest? 320 pages, softcover from Bethany.
 
About Alice:
 
Alice J. Wisler is a public speaker, advocate, fundraiser, and the author of two contemporary novels, How Sweet It Is and Rain Song, a Christy Award finalist. She has been a guest on several radio and TV programs to promote her self-published cookbooks, Slices of Sunlight and Down the Cereal Aisle. She has a Bachelor of Science from Eastern Mennonite University and has traveled the world in jobs that minister to people. Alice and her family live in Durham, North Carolina.

2 thoughts on “Hatteras Girl, by Alice J. Wisler

Leave a Comment

