Tandem, by Tracey Bateman

 

Can a Christian write a vampire novel? This was the question that circled through my mind when I heard Tracey Bateman was doing just that. I missed her first vampire novel, called Thirsty, so when I snagged a copy of the more recently released Tandem from Waterbrook, I decided to figure out what was going on.

My original question should not have been could a Christian write a vampire novel, but why shouldn’t she try? After all, Anne Rice is a woman of faith (yes, I know about her recently declared distance from Christianity, but she never did renounce Jesus) and she created the genre. Most readers know by now that the Twilight series was written by Stephenie Meyer, a Mormon, so why shouldn’t a Christian like Tracey Bateman write a story about misunderstood mythical creatures that are damned to hell and explore whether or not they can find redemption? The very fight between good and evil presents all kinds of interesting opportunities for a redemptive story that would attract Christian readers and probably an even wider market.

Tandem, part two in Tracey Bateman’s series, explores the idea, through fiction, that vampires might possibly walk in this world and that some of them have chosen to abstain from the abomination of consuming human blood. Lauryn, who runs an auction house, is tasked with selling the estate of an enigmatic figure with a mysterious side and a link to a secret vampire visiting the small Ozark town from New Orleans. I appreciate the artistic way that Tracey used different points of view to knit the story together and as the novel progressed, I was able to see the pattern of the voices and anticipate the clues that each gave to the story.

I liked this novel for its page-turning plot and its theme dealing with the quandaries we all face about choosing the easy way or choosing what is right. I applaud Tracey for attempting to write a vampire novel for the Christian market and I think she succeeded, but I definitely think the book has broader appeal for more than Christian fiction readers.  I loved the book and now I’m going back to read Thirsty.

What do you think about vampire novels?

(The Giveaway associated with this post is  over. Please enjoy the review.)

-Tina

Tina Ann Forkner is the author of Ruby Among Us and Rose House, from Waterbrook Press/Random House

19 thoughts on “Tandem, by Tracey Bateman

  1. I don’t see a problem with it. We have to keep in mind that it is FICTION, whether Chrisitian or mainstream. I read a book called “Dwellers” years ago that dealt with all those
    odd characters we hear of like the Loch Ness Monster and Bigfoot, even the Nephilim mentioned in the Bible. It gave a plausible, though fictional explanation for them all! It was also an enjoyable read. I have not read “Thirsty” but am going to go grab a copy and see what Tracey has come up with. I think it will be interesting!

    Like

  2. I loved THIRSTY and Tracey Bateman, so obviously I think that Christians can walk this line. Why can’t Christians tackle topics like this? As long as it’s well-written, I think it’s great!

    Like

  3. I’ve not read “Thirsty” but have heard about it. I see no problem with Christian authors tackling this type of plot if done properly. I’d love to read “Tandem”!

    Like

  4. I know Tracy is a prolific writer. I haven’t read Thirsty, but I would like to see how she handles the issues. Demons are real, which I guess people mean by vampires. Please add me to the giveaway. Thank you.

    Like

  5. Huh. I think it’s a really interesting idea. I haven’t read Twilight but I’ve always looked at these things as fantasy, and I don’t take offense to them. I’d be really interested to read both of Tracy’s books and see for myself! 🙂

    Like

  6. I certainly hope a Christian can write a vampire novel because I’ve just written one. 🙂 Anne Rice wrote hers when she wasn’t practicing her Catholic faith, but I still think it’s a fascinating subject. I even combined vampire and Amish! How’s that for crazy? But for me, it all came down to good versus evil. There are evil things in the world, and the bible has a lot to say about drinking blood. Did you know that? Very interesting stuff!

    Like

Leave a Comment

