When I’m Not Writing, I’m Cooking…

When I’m not writing, I’m often cooking.

I don’t have a large kitchen or a huge grocery budget for fancy recipes (I am an author), but one of the things that makes me feel like working at home all day is worth it, is cooking. It gives me a sense of accomplishment even when my story isn’t going well. If I don’t reach my word count at the end of the day, I can usually point out some sort of recipe I’ve made. It makes me feel better to say the words, “At least something got finished.”

The other day I needed appetizers for a wine party and I ended up making kabobs. You can look for the real recipes in Taste of Home, but here is how I made them. These are so easy and will make you look like you really know what you’re doing:

Apple and Brie Kabobs

You need a green apple, a hunk of brie, dried cranberries, a small package of macadamia nuts, caramel ice cream topping, and wooden skewers. Chop the apple with peeling on. Rinse apples with one cup water and a teaspoon of lemon juice (to prevent browning). “Peel” and cut the brie into small chunks, then insert apple and brie onto the skewer until you have 2 to 3 of each ingredient. Lay skewers side by side. Drizzle with caramel ice cream topping and sprinkle with the cranberry and macadamia nuts.

Tomato and Mozzarella Kabobs

You need a package of grape tomatoes, a block of mozzarella, a small bunch of fresh basil leaves, balsamic vinegar, olive oil, and wooden skewers. Cube the mozzarella. Slide the mozzarella, grape, a folded basil leaf, and so forth onto a wooden skewer until you have about 2 to 3 of each ingredient. Drizzle with olive oil and balsamic vinegar. The picture I took doesn’t have the vinegar drizzled over it yet, but that’s what really makes it pretty.

Enjoy!

-Tina

Leave a Comment

