The 11 Secrets of Getting Published

The first writing conference I ever attended was an ACFW conference back in 2005. In fact, it is this weekend and I am disappointed that I am unable to go, but that has absolutely nothing to do with my story. When I went to that first conference I was a mere chapter or two away from finishing my first novel and while I told my husband that I just wrote it because I loved writing, he wasn’t content (something I’m very glad about now). He sent me to the conference as a congratulations for my writing a novel and because he hoped I wThe 11 Secrets of Getting Publishedould learn more about how to get published. No pressure, right?

At my first and only editor appointment during the conference, I was so nervous that I could barely speak. When I finally did, it was because the editor, with admirable effort, managed to pull some words out of me. When I started talking, I unfortunately said something that YOU should never say in an editor appointment.

“I just wanted to ask you some questions.”

I should have been embarrassed, but I wasn’t. I didn’t know enough at the time to realize that I was wasting my editor appointment and blowing a rare chance to get published. I should have been pitching my book! The miracle is that the editor asked to read my novel, but it was probably because he felt so sorry for me. I really was pathetic.

Ultimately, everything turned out fine. I ended up getting published (Ruby Among Us and Rose House), albeit NOT as a result of that appointment. However, if I’d had a resource like The 11 Secrets of Getting Published, by Mary DeMuth, I would have been more prepared for my first conference and editor appointment and could have made the most of the opportunity.

I highly recommend this informative eBook, so that you won’t have to go through what I went through when I first dipped my toe into the publishing world.

The 11 Secrets of Getting Published is a must have guide to getting published for every aspiring writer. It is packed with useful advice that the author has gleaned from her own successful experience in the publishing industry.

Good luck with your pursuit of publication, but remember that the act of writing itself is what matters most. You don’t have to be published to be a writer. You only need to write.

To learn more about the author, Mary DeMuth, visit her site.

Click Here to watch a video trailer for The 11 Secrets to Getting Published.

To buy the book, click here.

-Tina

Leave a Comment

