That Rainbow Connection

I spent much of June in Oklahoma at my parents’ home. As long as I got up early enough to beat the heat, I always had the most beautiful office to edit that novel I’ve been writing. (It’s the one I thought was finished, but isn’t. And That’s another story.) I wasn’t at all expecting to find a new muse.

While enjoying the peace and quiet of my writing time, a new character showed up.

I must say I could not have imagined more interesting physical features, although he wasn’t much on dialogue. I tried to ignore him, but he just kept looking at me with those beady little eyes, like he wanted to say something.

I wrote the morning away, and each time I took a break, I would look up to see him staring. What can I say? I was inspired by his intensity. Then, just before the sun got too high in the sky he climbed up inside the umbrella to escape the heat. That’s when I knew it was time to pack up the  laptop and go find the AC.

So now I guess I have a muse. He comes to mind often these days, and if I think hard enough, I can just hear him saying with those eyes:

“Someday we’ll find it, that rainbow connection,
the lovers the dreamers and me.” – Kermit The Frog

Happy Writing!!!

7 thoughts on “That Rainbow Connection

Leave a Comment

