Authors and Indie Publishing: What’s Your Take?

my-typewriter-001Last week I posted about bad grammar in self-publishing. I think having better edited books is a topic that both readers and authors care about, but what about being able to find the best Ebooks in a sea of MILLIONS of titles out there on Amazon, B&N, and other sites? Yes, MILLIONS. How do readers know which books are well-written and not just put up there by random people who can’t write and think self-publishing is an entrepreneurial opportunity?

Maybe the answer is for authors who really can write, and who are already in the publishing industry, to get in on the game. In  yesterday’s post, Bad Grammar in Self-Publishing: Please Stop, I made a remark that I would probably never publish an Indie title of my own. That same day my agent, Chip MacGregor, posted this on his blog: Author Earnings, Amazon, and the Future of Ebooks. You authors and business-types out there will find what Chip has to say fascinating.

After reading his take on things, maybe being a “hybrid” author is not a terrible idea if published authors cover all their bases before releasing an indie Ebook, and if they work with their literary agent to insure their Indie book’s release is well-edited and supports their publishing career goals. For those self-publishing as debut novelists without an agent, I think it will be even harder. Hopefully those authors will start to see the importance of editing and marketing before they throw something up on Amazon. After all, what if it really is a great novel? It would be terrible for it to be lost in the sea of Millions.

So, as readers, what to do you all think about your favorite novelists getting into indie publishing where their books would continue to be available to you in bookstores, but also have a few things that come directly from the author and not a publisher, such as an indie Ebook?

Tina Ann Forkner is a novelist, blogger, substitute teacher, and mom who lives with her husband in windy Wyoming.

5 thoughts on “Authors and Indie Publishing: What’s Your Take?

  1. I read both your and Chip’s posts, and I’d just say to be careful not to lump all indies into the “bad grammar, unedited” category. Most of the indies I know work like it’s a full-time job, covering their editing, formatting, cover art, and marketing bases, just to name a few. It’s not a casual decision–it’s one many of us come to after much prayer and weighing of options.

    I try to give shout-outs to the indies who’ve obviously put out a professional product, and that number is growing as the trad. pub industry is getting more narrow. For many authors (myself included), indie WAS the best option, and it’s highly fulfilling. We’re not going into this blind (I’ve had three agents). Many of the indies I know are some of the most well-informed, business-minded authors out there.

    Not sure what genre you enjoy reading, but there are several indie authors I’d highly recommend, just to get a taste of the kind of product that is out there. Karin Kaufman, Becky Doughty, Wendy Paine Miller, and Tamara Leigh, to name just a few.

    I love your site, Tina, and your books always look like something I’d enjoy. I’d just encourage authors to read indie authors before assuming they’re all the same. It’s a whole new world out there. Personally, once I find an indie I love, just like a trad. pubbed author, I’m ready to buy all his/her books.

    Like

    1. Heather! How did I miss that you have published GOD’S DAUGHTER? I read General and Women’s Fiction, whatever that is these days, but I’m open to all genres if it’s a good book. I agree with you that indie publishing is changing and it sounds like you are the kind of author I am talking about because you are well-informed and business-minded. Congratulations and I hope you do well. I’m glad you find it highly-fulfilling. In my previous post, I said that I “probably” would never publish an indie novel on my own, after knowing what it’s like to have a good team, but I think my mind could be changed by hearing about more experiences like yours. I know that I would still want to work with my agent to make sure I’m not sending myself in the wrong direction, but to each his or her own, right? Thanks for stopping by. I always like to read your comments.

      Like

      1. Glad to stop in, Tina–always like your posts. I think we all go the route God wants us to go, and for me, that was most assuredly (and after knocking on every other door) indie publishing. However, I wouldn’t have jumped on this route, say, three years ago. I just didn’t believe I could do it at that time. But God has definitely brought me to the place where I knew HE would help me do it.

        Let me know if you’re ever interested in reading a Viking historical, gal, and I’ll hook you up! Grin.

        Like

Leave a Comment

