Ebooks: Have You Been Won Over Yet?

20140402-092511.jpg

 

I stumbled upon this quote this morning: “There is no future for e-books, because they are not books. E-books smell like burned fuel.” – Ray Bradbury. I wonder what Mr. Bradbury would think now?

In the not too distant past, it was impossible to know just how quickly Ebooks would gain traction with readers. Even I once claimed I would never be won over by Ebooks. Well, I’ve changed my mind.

It all started when my husband gave me a Kindle Paperwhite for Christmas. He figured I would like it since it doesn’t have any apps, just books and the capability to access an online bookstore. At first I was cynical, but then I downloaded an Ebook and Holy Mackerel! I am in love with my Ereader. I never thought  holding an Ereader in my hand would be satisfying at all, but I was wrong. Of course, there is nothing like turning a real page, but if the writing is fantastic, the story reigns supreme no matter the delivery method to the reader.

One of the first things I did after getting my Ereader was buy a skin for it because I am one of those people who likes pretty things. Then, I looked online for the kinds of books I enjoy reading and there they all were. I expected the Ebook store to just be flooded with lower quality books by self-published authors, but while they are there, I found that most of the books were the same ones I look for in bookstores. I even looked up and downloaded my own EBooks available from my publisher. Oh, come on, wouldn’t you? Ha. I couldn’t help it! It’s neat to see what my own Ebooks look like in electronic form. But don’t worry, I don’t sit and read my own books over and over again. I can hardly bear to do that, but that’s just me. Thank goodness I’ve found plenty of other authors to enjoy on my Kindle.

Besides the traditionally published authors I’ve always enjoyed from the big legacy publishing houses, I’ve even discovered some wonderful Indie and even a few self-published authors who can definitely write good books. Maybe the best part of Ebooks is turning out to be the choice we as readers now have. Many of our favorite traditionally published authors who continue to publish with the big  houses are going Indie at the same time. That gives us as readers something to read while we’re waiting around for an author’s next traditional novel. It’s good news for readers and writers alike.

I’m not saying I’m giving up reading a book with real pages and a glossy cover. What kind of reader would ever do that? But I’ve let go of the notion that Ebooks aren’t great, and now I carry my Ereader around with me wherever I go.

What about you? Feel free to share your thoughts in the comments. Have you been won over yet? Or do you agree with Ray Bradbury that Ebooks smell like burned fuel? I hope not!

-Tina

 

 

10 thoughts on “Ebooks: Have You Been Won Over Yet?

  1. My husband has worked in the graphic’s art dept and quality control dept of a paperback book manufacturer for 38 years, I also worked in the same industry as a bindery assistant and in press quality control for 15 years until our son was born nearly 22 years ago. Now my son works in another division of the same business in NEPA, for short run books and reprints. I grew up with REAL books and I mostly read the ones I buy at flea markets, library book sales and yard sales. When desperate I borrow form our very own small library set up in a large room of the old historic school building I and my parents and grandma went to school in.
    My mother has a Kindle Fire she uses to read e-books on occasion because she can enlarge the print, but she still prefers real books.

    Like

    1. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Mythoughts76! What an amazing business your family is is involved in! 🙂 I also like to scavenge the bookshelves at flea markets and the library book sales.

      Like

  2. Hi Tina – thanks for this post. I certainly hope and believe that ebooks have a future – I’ve published 2 books of my own and their kindle versions do much better sales-wise than their paperback counterparts. I only see this industry flourishing more as time goes on. Portability and having a library at your fingertips are key.

    Like

    1. I know what you mean about holding a book Cate. There really is no feeling like it. Of course, when I read a really moving story, it is the story that stays with me. I guess they each hold a different experience. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  3. I’m an old fogey paper book lover. I’ve read a few books on my Nook. It just isn’t the same for me. I just don’t process the story as well. If I traveled more, I think an ereader would be much more handy. But, as it is, I’m a homebody. Besides, I like looking at the books on my shelf. I think ereaders are great, though. They’ve upped the amount of books that people are reading. As an author, I’m pretty happy for that!

    Like

  4. I like the ebooks you have on yours! And yours is so pretty w/that cover! I agree–I was really slow to try a Kindle, but once I was able to see the selection of books, I was sold. And the ability to change font size/line spacing must be SO handy for those needing larger print, etc. Plus, it’s so light. Definitely made me a convert, although I still enjoy a print version of my fave books.

    Like

Leave a Comment

