Winter Reading List: Charm, Intrigue, and Delightful Storytelling

I admit it, my reading list is very long. I wouldn’t go so far as to say it’s too long, but I confess that as I keep adding more books to read, I get distracted and start doing things like reaching for books on the bottom instead of the top, or replacing the book I planned to review with one I forgot about and suddenly remembered. Here are a few on that list. I’d love to hear if you’ve read any of them and what you’re reading now. 

Reader lemon

I am currently reading THE LEMONCHOLY LIFE OF ANNIE ASTER, by Scott Wilbanks and am delighted to say that I love it. If my family didn’t need to eat, if schools didn’t need substitute teachers, and if my own editors would stop holding me to deadlines, I’d have this one finished already. It is charming, intriguing, and so far delightful to all of my senses.

readers of broken wheel

THE READERS OF BROKEN WHEEL RECOMMEND, by Katarina Bivald, is on my to-read list. I am very intrigued by what I’ve read so far. I confess to getting distracted by my own deadlines and letting this one get shuffled down, but not because what I’ve read wasn’t fantastic. Who can resist a quirky bookstore, a charming small town, and intriguing characters? A #1 Indie Next Pick, I’m moving this one higher up on my list.

candidate

CANDIDATE, by Tracy Ewans would get my vote first simply for its gorgeous cover and its tagline: “If only life were as simple as choosing between Toaster Strudel and Fruit Loops.” This novel is second in the author’s A Love Story series, which I didn’t know when I first downloaded it. From what I’ve read so far, I think I want to back up and read the first one. Tracy Ewans is a lovely writer.

So these are only a few books on my list right now, but my goal is to read at least two novels a month this year. As an author myself, I get distracted by my own stories, but I strongly believe that a good reader makes a better writer. 

Now it’s your turn. What are you reading?

Tina

4 thoughts on “Winter Reading List: Charm, Intrigue, and Delightful Storytelling

  1. I tried to comment from my phone, so if you see two, you’ll know why!

    For the past few years I’ve neglected to keep a list of books I’ve read for pleasure so I’m determined to do so in 2016. In addition, I’m committed to allowing myself time for reading, which I didn’t do enough of last year. Even if it’s just 15 minutes per day, it’s something.

    So far this year I’ve read Lucky Us by Amy Bloom, A Spool of Blue Thread by Anne Tyler, and The Promise of Forgiveness by Marin Thomas.

    If I finish a book that means I’ve liked it! I don’t finish books I don’t like. My to-read lists roll over from month-to-month and year-to-year because I have to be in the mood for a book to even start it. I browse my shelves, my Kindle, and Amazon to find exactly what I want each time!

    I read “Lemoncholy” last year and enjoyed it very much!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

