A Friendship Lesson for Introverts

With it being Fall, I was reminded of this blog post from last October. Autumn weather always makes me want to go for long walks, sometimes with someone else, but my introverted side never minds walking alone.

Vedauwoo, WY - Copyright Tina Ann Forkner

“Friendship is unnecessary, like philosophy, like art…. It has no survival value; rather it is one of those things which give value to survival.” — C.S. Lewis, The Four Loves

I am an introvert. I could walk alone for a long time and not be lonely at all. It’s not that I don’t love people, because I do. I simply enjoy being alone.

For example, I hiked the beautiful trail in this photo of the Vedauwoo, Wyoming area a few days ago with my husband. I enjoyed his company as we appreciated the changing season together, but I admit I would have enjoyed the walk alone, too. I love solitude and most of the time, there is nothing I don’t like about being an introvert.

I’m sure my introvertedness makes it easier for me to be a writer, easier for me to be still and contemplate life, and of course it is one of…

View original post 227 more words

2 thoughts on “A Friendship Lesson for Introverts

  1. I was never shy, although I do value my solitude when I need it. I come from a big boisterous family and I am the only girl. So I needed my solitude to regenerate myself. Now that I am in the Autumn of my years, I do a lot of things on my own but I still need my friends and my family around me.

    Like

  2. I didn’t know why, as a child, why I preferred to be alone. One is labeled as “shy,” but that’s not the same. It wasn’t until many years later I realized I was an introvert. Thankfully, it kept me out of trouble as a teen. It also allows me to see things: nature, people, simple pleasures and enjoy them differently.

    Nice to **know** a kindred spirit.

    Denise

    Like

Leave a Comment

