Changing Landscapes

As I watch my kids grow up and begin to accept that they will soon be moving on, I remembered this post and thought I’d share it with you again…

“There is an eternal landscape, a geography of the soul; we search for its outlines all our lives.” –Josephine Hart

Some people are born and raised in one place and never leave, except for brief visits and vacations to somewhere else. When I was a kid, born and raised in Oklahoma, all I wanted to do was take a vacation to somewhere far away. Even though I was right in the middle of Green Country and the foot of the Ozarks, a region of Oklahoma known for its majestic scenery and natural beauty, I wanted to leave it for a while, not realizing how it would never leave me. I got my wish when at just eighteen I made a series of spontaneous decisions and followed my heart out of Oklahoma, out of the United States, and began a decade of experiences that shaped my future as a woman, a…

View original post 790 more words

One thought on “Changing Landscapes

Leave a Comment

